Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Eric Fischl

Eric Fischl is an internationally acclaimed American painter and sculptor who has exhibited his work at the Whitney Museum, MOMA, Smithsonian, Rockefeller Center, Museum Haus Esters in Germany and countless galleries around the world. He has been a supporter and friend of the ILF for many years. Born in New York City and raised on Long Island, Fischl graduated from the California Institute for the Arts and is a fellow of both the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Colin Gonsalves

Colin Gonsalves is the executive director of the Human Rights Law Network and a pioneer in public interest law in India. He has also developed the Indian People’s Tribunal on Environment and Human Rights, an independent organization directed by retired Supreme Court and High Court judges that investigates human rights violations and environmental degradation. He is founder of the India Center for Human Rights and Law, an independent information center for public interest law and has brought numerous precedent-setting cases to the Supreme Court of India. A native of India, Gonslaves earned his bachelor’s degree in technology from the Department of Civil Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He began working as a civil engineer but was drawn to the law through union work and concerns over labor issues and exploitation and started studying law at night school in 1979. nsalves has received honorary degrees and awards for his services including the American Bar Association’s International Human Rights Award.

Allan Rock

Allan Rock is a lawyer, former Canadian politician, diplomat and now president of the University of Ottawa. He was Canada’s ambassador to the United Nations (2004-2006) and had previously served in the Cabinet of Jean Chretien, most notably as justice minister and health minister. A native of Ottawa and graduate of the University of Ottawa, Rock was appointed the President and Vice-Chancellor of the school by its Board of Governors in 2008.

Rüdiger Wolfrum

Rüdiger Wolfrum is a judge and one-time president of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, as well as the director of the Heidelberg Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. A professor of international law at the University of Heidelberg, Wolfrum is also a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Hamburg and has taught law at the Universities of Mainz, Kiel and Heidelberg and the University of Minnesota. He has served on the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and is currently the UN mediator for Darfur. A native of Berlin Wolfrum studied law at the Universities of Bonn and Tubingen and received an honorary doctorate degree from the Academy of Sciences, Moscow. He is also an honorary member of the Mongolia Academy of Sciences.

Larry Taman

Larry Taman is a senior constitutional lawyer with international experience in constitutional and rule of law reform. As a law student at Ontario’s Osgoode Hall Law School in 1970, he was involved in opening Canada’s first neighbourhood legal services operations. As a law professor, he helped design and taught in clinical legal education programs. Later, as Deputy Attorney General of Ontario, he was responsible for important reforms in the Ontario Legal Aid Plan. He has worked in developing countries to support clinical legal education and legal aid and will shortly be working on a clinical legal education plan for the newly independent country of South Sudan. He is currently working in for UNDP in Myanmar, supporting judicial sector reform in that country. He has recently worked on constitutional reform in Tunisia as Senior Technical Advisor to the UNDP. From 2008-10 he was the international project manager for UNDP Nepal’s support to constitution building in that country. In his own country, Canada, he was actively involved in constitutional reform as Assistant Deputy Minister for Constitutional Affairs. He has worked in many countries, including Indonesia, Albania, Mongolia, Afghanistan Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China and Ghana.

facebook Back to Top